Waltz Extraordinaire

 

Life is a condemnation to dance
Without direction,
A slow back-and-forth,
Searching for meaning in murmurations,
Patterns in our migrations
Through the lumbering and decadent
Halls of our discovery and renovation.

Let my eyes waltz
Across you again,
Catch them in your gaze
And dance with me,
The slow movements
And quixotic steps
Of nostalgia.

Let joy, the fervent ballerina,
Leap from your face to mine
One last time, and another,
Let my smile dance along
The erosions and carving-outs
Of your clay, brief statue of the sun.

Collide with me again,
I look forward to our next to-and-fro
Entropic tango,
I want to see your new steps.

I will never ask you for a last dance;
That way I have to make sure
There will be another.

 

____________________________

Youthful Paraphernalia

Leave a Reply

